Interview with Dave Boat

pokernight2review_news.png

Dave Boat is a voice actor who has been in TV shows (Family Guy), films (Wreck-It Ralph) and video games (Ratchet & Clank). He’s one talented and friendly guy, but how is he involved in Sam & Max?

In Poker Night 2, Dave took on the role of Max as a sound-alike for Telltale’s usual choice of William Kasten. Did you notice the change? I had a chat with Dave to find out more about him, his work in the industry and his experience of voicing Max.

Hi there, Dave! Please could you give us an introduction to yourself and what you do?

Howdy, Joe!

I’m a professional actor living and working in the lovely, sleepy little burgh of Los Angeles, California. I dabble with the occasional on-camera theatrical or commercial role – usually the goofy neighbor or lovable (but a bit “thick”) husband – but for the most part I do voice-over. Mostly video games and animation.

How did you get involved in voice acting? Was it something that you knew you were good at and wanted to do from a young age?

I sort of backed into it serendipitously, really. I’d always had a knack for mimicry and goofy voices (oh, and my teachers LOVED that!.. a-HEM!), but it wasn’t until I met a friend-of-a-friend who happened to be, to my good fortune, a professional voice actor and teacher, that I found my true calling. She (Carla Hardaway), pointed me toward a school in Sausalito, CA (Voicetrax), that taught voice acting exclusively.

I learned all facets of voice acting there (commercial, narration, retail, animation, e.t.c.) from some incredible teachers who were, themselves, highly successful voice actors (Samantha Paris, Thom Pinto, Pat Fraley). I took to it immediately and within a year I had an agent (Stars Agency, San Francisco) and was booking jobs. I left my “day job” (cooking for a student house at Stanford University) shortly after that and in the summer of 2002 I moved to Los Angeles to be near more work opportunities.